My small town dreams

There are times that I think I am a boring person, that I don’t have any interest. Then I start to think about stuff that interests me, things I enjoy, and things that I would like to do somehow. There’s more to me than sweet tea and fried chicken. It’s obvious I am into photography, but really only just got started with that. However, I would love to work up to making some money doing it.

I enjoy writing poems, stories and articles about things that interest me. I am also interested in reporting news and events. When I was younger, I use to write a lot. I mean a lot! I failed the 8th grade because, I was always writing stories in class and at home. I dreamed of becoming a novelist. Then I got married and had children. It seemed my brain turned to mush. I would need a refresher course in punctuation, sentence structure, probably an intense course in spelling and vocabulary to even attempt writing a novel these days. The old saying, “If you don’t use it, you lose it”, is somewhat true!

I enjoy helping out with fund-raising events. I enjoy doing things to help people and animals. I even do simple random acts of kindness for strangers. Simple things like offering bottles of water to people walking on hot days, or somewhere waiting for a ride or a tow truck. Paying for a stranger’s meal just because they look like they are having a bad day. Taking the time to check on someone who looks like they need some sort of help. Feeding anyone who looks like maybe they are hungry and could use a little kindness.

I would love to get to take a trip all over the United States, checking out points of interest in remote areas. I mean road trip, just stopping when we see something interesting, taking pictures, talking to the locals and sharing those pictures and stories in some sort of article series. Especially covering interesting, strange, fun events and festivals along the way. Find those little out of the way diners with a hamburger you will always want to come back for. Spotlight regular people and the things they do. Everyone should get their “fifteen minutes of fame”. Unfortunately, unless I hit the lottery, the Publisher’s clearing house Prize Patrol comes to my house or, some one gives me an expense account to do it, it is kind of out of the question.

I watch “Ellen” regularly. I guess I like her because, she is all about making people smile and laugh. I love how she picks random ordinary people and does nice things for them. It would be nice if I could go to a show taping, get to meet and have a conversation with her. If not a conversation, I wouldn’t mind getting on the show and doing some of the silly games and stuff she has people do. But alas, the Ellen Degeneres show is far a way from a small town in Alabama.

I am not a spring chicken anymore. I am getting close to middle-age and menopause. The eyes don’t see as clearly as they once did, seems I am squinting all the time. Twenty years ago is like yesterday and twenty minutes ago is a distant memory. I really should be wanting to get on the biggest loser instead of Ellen. Sadly, I admit I am overweight. I could stand to loose 80-90 pounds. Am I even fat enough for that show?

Well, it’s time to finish this post, quit dreaming and go to sleep. It’s almost 1:30 am in my neck of the woods. Seems I am always getting lost surfing the web and loose all track of time. I am sure I am not the only one. I sincerely apologize if I have bored you and I thank you for taking time to read this. You’re welcome to come back anytime and I hope that you do.

Leave a Reply

