This is me……………..

Yep, you guessed it. I was born and raised in th South. My home’s in Alabama. I still reside in the same county that I have been in since before I was two years old. I know how to hunt, fish and live off the land. Some folks like to make fun of southerners but we don’t mind so much. We get a laugh out of folks that don’t know what grits are and people who think camping involves a high-priced house on wheels. To us RV’s are pickup trucks, four wheelers or whatever floats us out to the best fishing spots.

I love camping. Primitive camping! We go way back in the woods and find a spot near a creek or stream. We gather up firewood and get a fire going and once we get a good bed of coals then we cook. Sometimes over the fire and sometimes we wrap the food up in foil real tight (with s little water) and toss the foil packets right in the bed of coals and it cooks up good. Usually it potatoes or vegetables like broccoli,carrots, onions with some sausage thrown in. Things like steaks, pork chops and chicken we do over the fire.

We bring tents and set them up but usually end up sleeping on the sand next to the fire. Nothing like laying on your back gazing into the heavens listening to the crickets, frogs, owls and other night birds. Oh sure, sometimes the coyotes get a little loud and we’re stoking up the fire. We have never had no trouble out of the coyotes while camping even though they have gotten quiet numerous around the area in the last 15-20 years. There are still some cougars and panthers around. Still plenty bobcats. It’s been a few years since I have heard a panther scream. Now there’s something that will make your blood run cold when you hear it, even if you don’t know what it is!

Okay, I may be a little on the antisocial side but you would find me still quiet hospitable. I usually don’t judge people I tend to just accept them. I don’t care what religion, race, size or where you come from if you treat me the way you want to be treated I will do the same. This doesn’t mean I will get nasty with you if you are a little grumpy or short with me. There is a line however, if you cross it you might find me directing you on out of my neck of the woods. Nobody wants that, least of all me. So let’s just keep it all sunshine and butterflies between us.

I live in a small town and I like it that way. It does get boring sometimes, but that just makes it more exciting when something does happen. It is a sitting in a lawn chair with feet in the kiddie fool sipping on a beer watching planes fly over while the little ones find new ways to skin their knees and knock teeth loose. Well, a lot of the time the story behind such injuries doesn’t quiet make sense and somehow it’s always some else’s fault. I suppose you basically know how it is. Surely we have all heard those famous words “WATCH THIS!” If not you are in for a real treat if you come around.

Leave a Reply

